motorcycle 101 guides

Motorcycle Laws & Licensing for Wyoming, United States 2021

Motorcycle Laws & Licensing for Wyoming, United States 2021

Motorcyclists find themselves drawn to Wyoming because they wish to travel along the winding roads that cut through the state’s mountains and plains. But before they can venture out, motorcyclists must become familiar with the motorcycle laws and licensing process specific to Wyoming.


Since motorcycles are considered their own category of vehicle, some laws must be reviewed to ensure that riders know how to safely handle a motorcycle. However, each region of the United States has its own set of rules. Novice riders or out-of-state tourists have to know the qualifications and the rules of the road related to motorcycles if they want their trips through Wyoming to go smoothly.

1. Wyoming Motorcycle Insurance

In case you ever get involved with a motorcycle accident, you are required to own Wyoming motorcycle insurance if you wish to operate a motorcycle. You must carry proof of ownership to indicate that you are financially liable and can pay compensation for any harm or damage done to another person.


If you are found at fault for an accident, your motorcycle insurance must be able to cover the minimum costs for the following accident-related fees:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury to a person per accident
  • $50,000 for bodily injuries to multiple people per accident
  • $20,000 for property damages sustained per accident
  • If the expenses exceed the minimum requirements of your liability coverage, you may want to consider acquiring additional forms of coverage:
  • Collision coverage
  • Uninsured coverage
  • Underinsured coverage
  • Comprehensive coverage
  • Bodily injury coverage

2. Wyoming Motorcycle Helmet Laws

If you are under the age of 18, you are legally obligated to always wear a motorcycle helmet while riding or operating the vehicle. Even if you are over the age of 18, it is recommended you put on a motorcycle helmet to mitigate the severity of head injuries


If you wish to know why it is better to wear a motorcycle helmet at all times, consider the following statistics:

  • Almost one out of five motorcycle crashes result in severe head or neck injuries.
  • Most collisions occur during short trips about or less than five miles or when motorcyclists are traveling at or below 30 miles per hour
  • Riders who wear a motorcycle helmet are three times more likely to survive severe head or neck injuries

An approved motorcycle helmet must meet the safety guidelines of both the U.S. Department of Transportation and Wyoming’s state standards. The two models that you can choose from are three-quarter and full-face helmets.


Listed below are the requirements and features to look for in a motorcycle helmet to maximize protection to your head and face:


Requirements Three-Quarter Helmet Full-Face Helmet
Has the Department of Transportation (DOT) sticker ✔️ ✔️
Contours around your head to fit snugly  ✔️ ✔️
No signs of damage  Ex:// cracks, loose padding, scratches, or frayed straps ✔️ ✔️
Has a face shield with no scratches ✔️
Include separate eye protection with no scratches Ex:// goggles, glasses  ✔️
Has a hard and durable outer shell that is shatter-resistant ✔️ ✔️
Gives you a clear, peripheral view of your surroundings ✔️ ✔️
Securely fastened with neck- or chin-strap ✔️ ✔️
Allows airflow without fogging up  ✔️ ✔️
Can allow you to wear sunglasses underneath ✔️ ✔️

3. Wyoming Motorcycle License Laws

4. Wyoming Motorcycle Instruction Permit & Intermediate License

You may begin applying for a Wyoming motorcycle instruction permit upon reaching the age of 15. Until you pass the required tests upon turning 16, you will not be permitted to operate a motorcycle. You will have to pay a fee of $11 to obtain the motorcycle instruction permit.


You may apply for a Wyoming motorcycle intermediate license upon reaching the age of 16. You will have to pay a fee of $15 plus an additional $3 to get access to full motorcycle privileges while holding the motorcycle intermediate license.


Listed below are the details, requirements, and restrictions for the Wyoming motorcycle instruction permit and intermediate license:


Requirements Motorcycle Instruction Permit Motorcycle Intermediate License
Had held a Restricted Class C license X ✔️
Held an instruction permit for at least 10 days X ✔️
Practice under the supervision of at least an 18-year-old with a valid motorcycle license  ✔️ ✔️
Cannot practice between 11 p.m. to 5 a.m. ✔️ ✔️
Cannot carry passenger ✔️ ✔️
Complete 50 hours of practice including 10 hours of night driving ✔️ ✔️
Valid for about 90 days ✔️ X
Will expire 30 days after 17th birthday X ✔️
Must have the consent of a parent or legal guardian if you are a minor ✔️ ✔️
Pay the required fees ✔️ ✔️
Pass the vision exam ✔️ ✔️
Pass the written test  ✔️ ✔️
Pass the skills test X* ✔️

*While optional, if you are applying for a motorcycle instruction permit and decide to take the skill test, it will be valid for at least one year if you pass.

5. Wyoming Motorcycle Endorsement

To get your Wyoming motorcycle endorsement, you have to be at least 17-years-old or 16 ½-years-old with proof of completing a driver education course and holding a valid Wyoming intermediate motorcycle license.


You will be required to pay a fee of $11 to finish the process of earning your motorcycle endorsement.


Listed below are the requirements you will need to fulfill to finally obtain a Wyoming motorcycle license. Depending on your age when you approach the final step, the list of criteria may differ between motorcyclists:


Requirements Applicants Ages  16 ½ and Below Applicants Ages  17 and Older
Have a valid Wyoming driver’s license ✔️ ✔️
Held a motorcycle intermediate for at least 6 months ✔️ ❌*
Complete a Basic Rider safety education course ✔️* ✔️
Present signed certificate of completion for approved driver education course ✔️
Provide proof of finishing behind-the-wheel practice ✔️
Provide proof of Wyoming motorcycle insurance ✔️ ✔️
Provide evidence of Wyoming vehicle registration ✔️ ✔️
Fill out the appropriate driver’s license application ✔️ ✔️
Must have a parent or legal guardian’s signature for Minor’s Release Form ✔️ ✔️
Provide your social security number ✔️ ✔️
Pay required fees ✔️ ✔️
Present valid photo I.D. ✔️ ✔️
Take a photo ✔️ ✔️
Take vision exam ✔️ ✔️
Pass the written test ✔️* ✔️*
Pass the skills test ✔️* ✔️*
Provide proof of U.S. citizenship ✔️ ✔️
Provide proof of residency in Wyoming ✔️ ✔️

*Upon reaching the age of 17, you can be issued a Wyoming motorcycle license without having held an intermediate license or instruction permit previously.


*If you submit proof that you completed a Basic Rider safety education course, you will have the option of waiving the written and skills portions of the Wyoming motorcycle license test.

6. Wyoming Motorcycle License Test

Written Portion:

  • Will be done on touch-screen computers
  • Complete 25 multiple-choice questions
  • Can request oral system to aid with test
  • Questions based on Wyoming Motorcycle License Manual
  • Need a passing grade of 80% or higher
  • You may only retry the test once

Riding Portion:

  • Required to provide own motorcycle
  • Will be conducted on a closed course
  • Will be canceled if the weather is raining or snowing or the ground is wet or icy
  • Examiner will confirm insurance and registration
  • Examiner will inspect motorcycle to see it meets safety standards
  • Demonstrate basic motorcycle maneuvers
  • Examiner will determine when you can retake test based on quality of performance if you fail

7. Wyoming Motorcycle Passenger Laws

There is no age restriction for motorcycle passengers in Wyoming.


If your passenger is below the age of 18, he/she is required to wear a motorcycle helmet while seated on your ride.


It is only for you to carry a passenger if your motorcycle is outfitted with features that provide comfortable and secure seating without sacrificing your vehicle’s performance. As the passenger’s well-being is your responsibility, make sure the following criteria are fulfilled before transporting another person:

  • The passenger is seated in a driver’s saddle big enough to fit two people
  • Or the passenger is seated in a separate saddle near the rear
  • Or the passenger is seated in a sidecar
  • There are adjustable footholds the passenger can reach
  • The passenger is facing forward with a leg hanging on each side
  • The passenger cannot carry baggage that could obstruct the driver

8. Wyoming Motorcycle Lane Splitting Laws

  • Motorcyclists are prohibited from practicing lane splitting while in Wyoming. When on the road, you are not allowed to engage in the following behavior:
  • You cannot ride on top of the dividing lines between lanes
  • You cannot ride in between adjacent rows of vehicles that are stopped
  • You cannot overtake another vehicle sharing the same lane
  • While you are restricted from lane splitting, motorcyclists do still have mobility compared to larger vehicles on highways:
  • You can make full use of the space within the lane
  • You can share a lane with another motorcycle so long as you are two abreast apart and both parties have agreed beforehand

9. Wyoming Motorcycle Safety Features

  • For your motorcycle to be considered street legal in Wyoming, it must be outfitted with the following equipment:
  • Horn
  • Wheels
  • Tires
  • Handlebars
  • Brake system
  • Controls
  • Headlight
  • Taillight
  • Brake light
  • Reflector
  • Exhaust system
  • Muffler
  • Left rear-view mirror
  • Turn signals (Optional)

10. Sources

Reading next

Viking Bags Motorcycle Luggage Bags for Street/Sports Bikes
Motorcycle Laws & Licensing for Idaho, United States 2021

Leave a comment

All comments are moderated before being published.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.