motorcycle 101 guides

Motorcycle Laws & Licensing for Oklahoma, United States

Motorcycle Laws & Licensing for Oklahoma, United States

Table of Contents

1. Introduction

Like when driving a car or a truck, operating a motorcycle requires having a complete understanding of the controls and being able to comply with traffic laws. Possessing this knowledge will make sure you and other drivers sharing the road stay safe. However, because motorcycles are more maneuverable yet less protected, there are additional rules and restrictions that need to be followed. Based on where you are in the United States, the set of laws specific to motorcycles may differ between states.

If you are a novice motorcyclist, an out-of-state tourist, or an experienced rider whose memory needs refreshing, this infographic will provide you an overview of Oklahoma’s motorcycle laws and licensing process.

2. Oklahoma Motorcycle Insurance

Oklahoma Motorcycle Insurance

Before you can travel on your motorcycle, you are required to own Oklahoma motorcycle insurance. Having liability insurance coverage will ensure you have financial aid if you find yourself in a collision. It also serves as proof that you can be financially liable if you are found at fault for the incident. Whenever you operate your motorcycle, you must always carry documentation in case you need to confirm that you own Oklahoma motorcycle insurance to local law enforcement or another party.

Your liability insurance coverage must be able to cover the minimum costs for the following accident-related fees:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury to a person per accident
  • $50,000 for bodily injuries to multiple people per accident
  • $25,000 for property damages sustained per accident

Because the required Oklahoma motorcycle insurance is intended to pay compensation to the other party, you may want to consider acquiring optional insurance coverage that provides protection for your health and property:

  • Collision coverage
  • Uninsured coverage
  • Underinsured coverage
  • Comprehensive coverage
  • Bodily injury coverage
  • Medical expenses

3. Oklahoma Motorcycle Helmet Laws

Oklahoma Motorcycle Helmet LawsOklahoma Motorcycle Helmet Laws2

In Oklahoma, motorcyclists who are under the age of 18 are required to wear a motorcycle helmet while riding atop laned roads and highways. If you are a legal adult, you have the option of opting out of putting on a motorcycle helmet. However, it is recommended that all riders keep on protective headgear at all times. Wearing a motorcycle helmet significantly reduces the risk of severe or fatal injuries to your head and neck.

Based on statistics in recent years, having a motorcycle helmet in Oklahoma has been instrumental in saving the lives of most riders involved in accidents:

  • In 2017, motorcycle helmets saved the lives of 1,872 riders involved in accidents
  • In 2017, there were about 5,172 fatalities due to many of the riders not wearing a motorcycle helmet
  • It is estimated that at least 749 additional riders could have lived had they been wearing a motorcycle helmet

An approved motorcycle helmet must have been manufactured by the Snell Memorial Foundation and fulfills the safety standards set by the U.S. Department of Transportation. The two types of models that provide varying degrees of protection are the three-quarter and full-face helmets. Listed in this table are the requirements and features you should look for when selecting a motorcycle helmet:

Oklahoma Motorcycle Helmet Laws

4. Oklahoma Motorcycle License Laws

4.1 Oklahoma Motorcycle Learner’s Permit

You are allowed to apply for an Oklahoma motorcycle learner’s permit if you are at least 14 to 15 years old.

You must pay a $4 application fee and an additional $38.50 to be issued an Oklahoma motorcycle learner’s permit.

During the application process, make sure that you have met or can complete the following requirements:

  • Enroll in and complete a motorcycle education course
  • Provide proof of I.D.
  • Provide proof of U.S. citizenship
  • Pass the vision exam
  • Pass the written exam

If you are in possession of an Oklahoma motorcycle learner’s permit, you can only operate a motorcycle under these circumstances:

  • You have to be supervised by at least a 21-year-old who is holding a valid Oklahoma motorcycle license
  • Your motorcycle piston displacement cannot exceed 300 cubic centimeters
  • You can only operate between 4:30 a.m. and 9 p.m.
  • You cannot carry a passenger except for your supervisor
  • You cannot ride on highways with minimum speed limits if you are below the age of 16
  • You must stick to roads that have a speed limit of 35 miles per hour

4.2 Oklahoma Motorcycle License

If you are at least the age of 16, you are allowed to apply for an Oklahoma motorcycle license.

You must pay a $4 application fee and an additional $38.50 to be issued an Oklahoma motorcycle license.

Listed below are the requirements you will need to fulfill to obtain an Oklahoma motorcycle license. Depending on your age when you approach the final step, the list of criteria may differ between motorcyclists:

Oklahoma Motorcycle License

*It is mandatory for applicants under the age of 17 to complete a Motorcycle Safety Education course if they wish to receive a Class M endorsement for their Oklahoma driver’s license.

*If you present the completion card for a Motorcycle Safety Foundation course, you have the option of waiving the written and riding portions of the Oklahoma motorcycle license test.

4.3 Oklahoma Motorcycle License Test

Oklahoma Motorcycle License Test

Written Portion:

  • Will be completed on touch-screen computers
  • Complete 25 multiple-choice questions
  • Questions will be based on content from Oklahoma Motorcycle Operator Manual
  • Requires a passing grade of 80% or higher

Riding Portion:

  • Will be conducted in an actual traffic environment or in a controlled, off-street area.
  • Examiner will conduct a pre-ride inspection to ensure your motorcycle meets safety standards.
  • Demonstrate a basic understanding of motorcycle operation.
  • You will be tested on your ability to stay within the speed limit, adjusting speed and position, maintaining visibility, operating under stress, accelerating, braking, turning, stopping, and swerving.
  • The examiner will grade you based on how well you ride at safe speeds, stay within the lanes, and demonstrate riding maneuvers.

If you fail either parts of the Oklahoma motorcycle license test, you will have to pay a fee of $4 in order to retake it.

5. Oklahoma Motorcycle Passenger Laws

In Oklahoma, any motorcyclists that are 16 years old or younger are not allowed to carry a motorcycle passenger. That being said, Oklahoma does not have a minimum age requirement for motorcycle passengers. Any minors who are under the age of 18 must be wearing an approved motorcycle helmet if they wish to ride with you.

As you are responsible for your passenger’s safety, make sure that he/she is tall enough to easily reach the footrests. Your passenger must also be able to listen and immediately respond to your directions. It is best to avoid transporting young children and eldery folk.

You can only transport a passenger on your motorcycle if the vehicle is installed with a designated passenger seat, footrests, and handholds.

Make sure that the passenger seat is located in one of the following positions and that the passenger complies with the following rules:

  • The passenger is seated in a driver’s saddle big enough to fit two people
  • Or the passenger is seated in a separate saddle near the rear
  • Or the passenger is seated in a sidecar
  • There are footholds and handholds the passenger can reach
  • The passenger is facing forward with a leg hanging on each side
  • The passenger cannot hold packages that could obstruct the driver
  • The passenger can understand and follow your directions
  • The passenger holds tights and mimics your movements at all times

6. Oklahoma Lane Splitting Laws

Lane splitting is declared an illegal practice for motorcyclists in Oklahoma. You cannot attempt any variations of lane splitting including lane filtering or lane sharing. Thus, you are forbidden from engaging in the following behavior while traveling on Oklahoma’s laned roads and highways:

  • You cannot ride on top of the dividing lines between lanes
  • You cannot ride in between adjacent rows of vehicles that are stopped
  • You cannot overtake a vehicle directly ahead of you in the same lane
  • You cannot ride side-by-side with another vehicle in the same lane

7. Oklahoma Motorcycle Safety Features

Because a motorcycle has a sleek yet small design that leaves the rider exposed, it must be equipped with plenty of features to signal its presence at all times. Sometimes drivers bump into motorcyclists because they do not notice them until it is too late. And without a canopy or airbag that larger vehicles possess, crashing would guarantee you get knocked off your motorcycle every time.

Before you turn the ignition, conduct periodic inspections of your motorcycle to check for any potential mechanical issues. If there are signs of damage, fix them with your tools or take your vehicle into a repair shop. Making sure that the motorcycle’s safety features are in working order will guarantee you have increased visibility during any point in the day, be more aware of your surroundings, and help you react quickly to danger.

Make sure that your motorcycle has the following equipment installed and that they are given proper maintenance to ensure peak performance:

  • Horn
  • Wheels
  • Fenders
  • Tires
  • Handlebars
  • Brake system
  • Controls
  • Headlight
  • Taillight
  • Brake light
  • Reflector
  • Exhaust system
  • Muffler
  • Turn signals
  • Rearview mirrors
  • Windshield

8. Sources
391 Thor Pl,
Brea, CA 92821

Reading next

Motorcycle Laws & Licensing for Wisconsin, United States
Best Motorcycle Roads and Destinations in Oklahoma, United States

Leave a comment

All comments are moderated before being published.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.