motorcycle 101 guides

Motorcycle Laws & Licensing for Nevada, United States

Motorcycle Laws & Licensing for Nevada, United States

1. Introduction


Since riding a motorcycle brings more risk than driving a four-wheel vehicle, there are additional rules to follow alongside normal traffic laws. All states require you to have a driver’s license with a Class M endorsement, have proof of owning auto insurance, and comply with safety standards both on and off the road. However, no set of motorcycle laws are exactly alike between states.

If you are a resident of Nevada with little to no experience operating a motorcycle or an out-of-state tourist traveling on your motorcycle, you will need to become familiar with this state’s motorcycle laws and licensing process.

2. Nevada Motorcycle Insurance

Because the majority of collisions involving motorcycles are guaranteed to result in injury, every motorcyclist is required to own Nevada motorcycle insurance. They must always be carrying documentation in case they are asked to show it to local law enforcement.

Introduction - Nevada Motorcycle Insurance

The minimum costs that Nevada motorcycle insurance must cover in cases where you are found liable for an accident include the following:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury to a person per accident
  • $50,000 for bodily injuries to multiple people per accident
  • $20,000 for property damages sustained per accident

To provide protection for your health, your passenger’s health, and the state of your motorcycle, you should consider getting the following insurance as well:

  • Collision
  • Comprehensive
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist
  • Medical Payment

3. Nevada Motorcycle Helmet Laws

Introduction - Nevada Motorcycle Helmet Laws1

Introduction - Nevada Motorcycle Helmet Laws2

All motorcyclists are required to wear a motorcycle helmet approved by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration and compliant with the U.S. Department of Transportation.

You are also required to put on eye protection. This feature can be included in a motorcycle helmet or can be a separate accessory fitted underneath your helmet.

You should pick either a three-quarter helmet or a full-face helmet. Listed below are the mandatory features your choice in motorcycle helmet must have:

Nevada Motorcycle Helmet Laws

When evaluating 900 motorcycle crashes, only 40% of the riders wore motorcycle helmets but the accidents were never caused by their headgear obscuring their vision.

Most motorcycle crashes occur when traveling short distances of at least 5 miles and when moving at speeds at least 30 miles per hour.

Motorcyclists wearing headgear are three times as likely to survive severe or fatal head injuries compared to motorcyclists who do not.

4. Nevada Motorcycle License Laws

Introduction - Nevada Motorcycle License Laws

4.1 Nevada Motorcycle License Laws

You can technically begin applying for a Nevada motorcycle learner’s permit when you turn 15 years old. However, the list of requirements you need to complete before your motorcycle learner’s permit can be issued may differ based on how old you are.

Listed below are the details, requirements, and restrictions for holding a motorcycle learner’s permit based on whether you are below or over the age of 18:

Nevada Motorcycle License Laws

When you apply for a motorcycle learner’s permit, you will have to pay a fee of $22.25 Upon completion of your motorcycle learner’s permit, you will have to pay another $22.25.

If you fail the DMV-administered skills test at least two or more times, you will be prevented from ever trying to obtain a motorcycle learner’s permit in Nevada.

4.2 Requirements for a Nevada Motorcycle Endorsement:

After you have held onto the motorcycle learner’s permit for the required time and completed the necessary education and practice on your ride, you will then be ready to apply for a Class M endorsement.

Listed below are the requirements you will need to fulfill to finally complete the process of getting a Nevada motorcycle license depending on whether you are below or over the age of 18:

Requirements for a Nevada Motorcycle Endorsement

When applying for a Class M endorsement, you will have to pay a fee of $8.25 plus any additional charges.

*If you are 18 or older, you are not required to get a motorcycle permit. However, you will not be allowed to practice on a motorcycle before your skills test.

*If you provide proof that you completed an approved Motorcycle Safety Foundation course, you can waive taking the motorcycle skills test.

4.3 Nevada Motorcycle License Test:

The first time you take the Nevada motorcycle license test, you will have to pay a fee of $25. If you have to retake the test, you will need to pay $10 for each attempt.

Written Portion:

  • Will be done on touch-screen computers
  • Complete 25 multiple-choice questions
  • Questions based on Nevada Motorcycle Operator Manual
  • Need a passing grade of 80% or higher

Riding Portion:

  • Will be evaluated on a closed course
  • Examiner will confirm insurance and registration
  • Examiner will inspect motorcycle to see it meets safety standards
  • Demonstrate understanding of motorcycle equipment
  • Pull off basic motorcycle maneuvers

Introduction - Nevada Motorcycle License Test:

5. Nevada Motorcycle Passenger Laws

Introduction - Nevada Motorcycle Passenger Laws

Unless your motorcycle is fitted with equipment meant to safely transport a second person, it is illegal to have a passenger riding with you. To be permitted to carry a passenger, the following parameters must be met:

  • The passenger is seated behind the driver in a saddle big enough to fit both
  • Or the passenger is riding behind the driver in a separate saddle by the rear
  • Or the passenger is riding in a sidecar
  • There are adjustable footholds the passenger can reach
  • The passenger is wearing a motorcycle helmet at all times

6. Nevada Motorcycle Lane Splitting Laws

Lane splitting is illegal in Nevada. You are not allowed to engage in the following behavior while operating a motorcycle:

  • You cannot ride on top of the dividing lines
  • You cannot ride between vehicles that are stopped or slowed
  • You cannot try to pass another vehicle while in the same lane
  • You cannot share a lane with a passenger vehicle

7. Nevada Motorcycle Safety Features

Introduction - Nevada Motorcycle Safety Features

For your motorcycle to be considered street legal in Nevada, it must be outfitted with the following equipment:

  • Horn
  • Wheels
  • Tires
  • Fenders: Must be applied to both wheels
  • Handlebars
  • Brake: Must be applied both front and back
  • Controls
  • Headlight(s): Can have from one to two
  • Taillight: Has to be visible from 500 feet
  • Brake light: Has to be visible from 300 feet
  • Reflector: Has to be visible from 300 feet
  • Exhaust system
  • Muffler: No cutout, bypass, etc. allowed
  • Electric turn signals: Required for models after 1973
  • Rearview mirrors: Must fix one each for both handlebars
391 Thor Pl,
Brea, CA 92821

Reading next

Aishwarya Pissay Wins National Rally Championship for the Fifth Consecutive Time
Motorcycle Laws & Licensing for North Dakota, United States

Leave a comment

All comments are moderated before being published.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.